EJIL Roll of Honour; 2020 EJIL Peer Reviewer Prize; Legal/Illegal

Written by and

EJIL Roll of Honour

EJIL relies on the good will of colleagues in the international law community who generously devote their time and energy to act as peer reviewers for the large number of submissions we receive. Without their efforts our Journal would not be able to maintain the excellent standards to which we strive. A lion’s share of the burden is borne by members of our Boards, but we also turn to many colleagues in the broader community. We thank the following colleagues for their contribution to EJIL’s peer review process in 2020:

Francisco Abreu Duarte, Ruth Abril Stoffels, Karen Alter, Tilmann Altwicker, Ivar Alvik, Paz Andrés Sáenz de Santa María, Antony Anghie, Julian Arato, Kenneth Armstrong, William Ascher, Helmut Aust, Freya Baetens, Ittai Bar-Siman-Tov, Mause Oliver Barker-Vormawor, Lorand Bartels, Michael Becker, Andrea Bianchi, Adelle Blackett, Daniel Bodansky, Laurence Boisson de Chazournes, Fernando Bordin, Marco Bronckers, Jutta Brunnee, Elena Chachko, Damian Chalmers, Orfeas Chasapis Tassinis, Kathleen Claussen, Amy Cohen, Harlan Cohen, Cathryn Costello, Daniel Costelloe, Lorenzo Cotula, Carys Craig, Matthew Craven, Marise Cremona, Pierre D’Argent, Tom Dannenbaum, Kristina Daugirdas, Natalie Davidson, Ana Gerdau de Borja Mercereau, André de Hoogh, Maks Del Mar, Rossana Deplano, James Devaney, Megan Donaldson, Shai Dothan, Jeffrey Dunoff, Pierre-Marie Dupuy, Franz Christian Ebert, Jaye Ellis, David Erdos, Carlos Esposito, David Fidler, Veronika Fikfak, Steven Freeland, Mónica García-Salmones Rovira, Matthew Garrod, Robin Geiss, Janneke Gerards, Emanuela-Chiara Gillard, Tom Ginsburg, Leena Grover, Monica Hakimi, Kevin Heller, Caroline Henckels, Christian Henderson, Jarrod Hepburn, Ellen Hey, Alicia Hinarejos, Stephen Hobe, John M. Hobson, Bernard Hoekman, Duncan Hollis, Johan Horst, Anna-Maria Hubert, David Hughes, Stephen Humphreys, Francesca Iurlaro, Miles Jackson, Ram Jakhu, Jesse James, Ian Johnstone, Sarah Joseph, Jörg Kammerhofer, Emily Kidd White, Jan Komárek, Louis Kotze, Markus Krajewski, David Kretzmer, Dino Kritsiotis, Andreas Kulick, Jürgen Kurtz, Andrew Lang, Joanna Langille, Vladyslav Lanovoy, Suzanne Last Stone, Charles Leben, Eliav Lieblich, Liesbeth Lijnzaad, Ulf Linderfalk, James Loeffler, Vaughan Lowe, Mikael Madsen, Jon Mandle, Gabrielle Marceau, Nele Matz-Lück, Juliette McIntyre, Mario Mendez, Paul Mertenskötter, Timothy Meyer, Hemi Mistry, Daniel Moeckli, Harriet Moynihan, Liam Murphy, Krista Nadakavukaren Schefer, Eva Nanopoulos, Stephen Neff, Noam Neuman, Janne Nijman, Angelika Nussberger, Mary O’Connell, Roger O’Keefe, Barbara Oomen, Sundhya Pahuja, Martins Paparinskis, Christina Parajon Skinner, Reut Paz, Marco Pedrazzi, Anne Peters, Ernst Petersmann, Mark Pollack, Patricia Popelier, Alexander Proelss, Lea Raible, Lavanya Rajamani, Surabhi Ranganathan, Steven Ratner, David Reidy, August Reinisch, Anthea Roberts, Cecily Rose, Arie Rosen, Tom Ruys, Cedric M.J. Ryngaert, Margot Salomon, Barrie Sander, Andrew Sanger, Daniel Sarmiento, Mavluda Sattorova, William Schabas, Martin Scheinin, Stephan W. Schill, Joanne Scott, Yuval Shany, Sivan Shlomo-Agon, Bruno Simma, Beth Simmons, Gerry Simpson, Muthucumaraswamy Sornarajah, Frédéric Sourgens, Cassandra Steer, James Stewart, Benjamin Straumann, Thomas Streinz, Gavin Sullivan, Immi Tallgren, Alan Khee Jin Tan, Fernando Tesón, Nicholas Tsagourias, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Isabelle Van Damme, Larissa Van den Herik, Tara Van Ho, Elies van Sliedregt, Ingo Venzke, Jorge Viñuales, Lars Vinx, Hedi Viterbo, Erik Voeten, Andreas von Arnauld, Jochen von Bernstorff, Michael Waibel, Philippa Webb, Wouter Werner, Ramses Wessel, Margaretha Wewerinke-Singh, Deborah Whitehall, Andrew Willard, Eric Witmer, Michael Wood, Rumiana Yotova, Margaret Young, Fuad Zarbiyev, Bruno Zeller, Marcos Zunino

2020 EJIL Peer Reviewer Prize

The EJIL Peer Review Prize 2020 is awarded to Dr Megan Donaldson. Dr Donaldson reviewed several articles in a short time frame, thoroughly engaged with the authors’ arguments, provided most constructive suggestions for improvement and clear roadmaps for revision. Moreover, she did the same again when assessing the revised manuscripts. Her reviews contain an excellent combination of meta-level commentary on the argument and line-by-line suggestions for improvement.


In 2021, EJIL will commence publishing – in a rubric entitled Legal/Illegal – short articles (3000–5000 words), which will seek to pronounce in pithy style and with a positivist hermeneutic on the legality or illegality under international law of ongoing events in the world.

Needless to say, this should not preclude or even discourage submission of full-length articles (10000–15000 words) addressing such topics in depth and with the expected conceptual and policy apparatus that is the typical hallmark of EJIL publications. But we believe there is value in also publishing briefer, more concise and focused pieces, which address directly the straightforward doctrinal question: legal or illegal.

Our blog, EJIL:Talk!, regularly carries many outstanding posts of this nature within its size constraints. It is our intention to select from these postings and invite the authors to develop their blog post for eventual publication, after peer review, in the Legal/Illegal rubric of EJIL. Authors may of course submit Legal/Illegal pieces directly to EJIL via ScholarOne.

Scholars who wish to respond to a legal/illegal debate explaining what gets lost in such a doctrinal discussion are also welcome to do so.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Comment

Comments for this post are closed